Massachusetts used car warranty

How many days do you have to return a used car in Massachusetts?

If they don’t tell you about a known problem, you have 30 days to cancel the sale and get your money back. You ‘ re also protected under the Massachusetts Inspection law. When you buy a car , you must have it inspected at a registered station within seven days of you buying it.

Is there a mandatory warranty on used cars?

Dealers may offer a full or limited warranty on all or some of a vehicle’s systems or components. Most used car warranties are limited and their coverage varies. You only have to tell the dealer that warranty service is needed to get it, unless the dealer can prove that it is reasonable to require you to do more.

How long is the warranty on a used car?

Once you look over what’s covered, along with other details like the expiration date/mileage, you can reach out to the manufacturer to verify it’s accurate. A car manufacturer’s warranty often covers a vehicle’s first three years or 36,000 miles, though powertrain warranties may last longer.

What does a 30 day used car warranty cover?

The warranty must cover essential components, such as the engine, transmission, brakes, steering and most electronics. If the dealer is unable to repair problems that arise in the first 1,000 miles or 30 days, it must offer the customer a refund on their purchase. The law was written to help drivers like Jonathan Frye.

What is the Massachusetts lemon law for used cars?

Massachusetts has a special lemon law for used car sales involving private people. The law requires the seller to tell the buyer about any known defects that impair the safety or substantially impair the value of the used vehicle . But the seller gets to deduct 15 cents for each mile you drove on the vehicle .

You might be interested:  Massachusetts criminal public records

What is buyers remorse law?

Federal and state consumer laws allow people to cancel certain contracts or sales of goods for any reason, such as buyer’s remorse , or for no reason at all. The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) requires sellers of goods in certain circumstances to allow consumers a “cooling off” period.

What to do if a dealer sells you a bad used car?

Use the “Lemon Law” Before you can use it, you must give the manufacturer or dealer a “reasonable number of attempts” to fix the problem. If the dealer cannot fix the problem, the dealer must take back the vehicle and refund your money, including fees and taxes, or replace the vehicle with a comparable set of wheels.

What can I do if I bought a faulty used car?

You have a right to reject something faulty and you are entitled to a full refund within 30 days of purchase in most cases. After 30 days you lose the short-term right to reject the goods. You’ll also have fewer rights, such as only being able to ask for a repair or replacement, or a partial refund.

Are warranties on used cars worth it?

In general, we don’t recommend buying an extended warranty on a used car . Warranty companies are in business to make money, and they’ve usually done their homework. This means you’ll likely spend more on the warranty than any repair costs your car may accrue during the period when the warranty is valid.

What is the minimum warranty on a used car?

Used car warranty A used – car warranty typically lasts for three, six or 12 months, with older cars often supplied with shorter policies. Cars sold by franchised dealers are typically marketed under an ‘approved used ‘ scheme and are generally covered by a 12-month warranty .

You might be interested:  Coast guard beach cape cod massachusetts

What used car not to buy?

30 Used Cars Consumer Reports Gave the ‘Never Buy’ Label Chrysler Town & Country. Chrysler’s new minivan will hopefully rate better than Town & Country. BMW X5. 2012 BMW X5 | BMW . Ford Fiesta. Compact cars by Ford had a bad run between 2011 and 2014 | Ford. Ram 1500. 2015 Ram 1500 | Ram. Volkswagen Jetta. VW Jetta | Volkswagen. Cadillac Escalade. Audi Q7. Fiat 500.

Can I return a used car I just financed?

In most situations, the dealer has no legal obligation to take the car back if you signed the sales contract. But, you may be able to get whatever reasons for your car buyer’s remorse resolved and possibly even return the car .

What happens if you buy a used car and it breaks down?

Unless they went out of their way to cover something up, you have to pay for the repairs. Bring it to the shop, if it’s something minor, they may fix it. If not, bring it somewhere else. For future reference, you should bring any car to a trusted mechanic before you buy it so they can look over it.

What’s covered under used car warranty?

A car warranty usually covers : Repair of defects within a fixed period of time. Used cars sold by dealers usually come with a three-month, 5000km warranty . Car servicing by independents such as Motorserve as long as genuine parts are used .

What should a used car warranty cover?

Most used car warranties cover at a minimum all internally lubricated parts of the engine and transmission. Some used car warranties will cover many other issues, and some do not. Older cars with more mileage have a higher chance of needing a repair, and warranty costs have to take that into consideration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *