Who are the two senators from massachusetts

Who is the senior senator from Massachusetts?

Ed Markey
Born Edward John Markey July 11, 1946 Malden, Massachusetts, U.S.
Political party Democratic
Spouse(s) Susan Blumenthal ​ ( m. 1988)​
Education Boston College (BA, JD)

Who are the two senators representing California?

Its current U.S. senators are Democrats Dianne Feinstein and Kamala Harris.

What are the two types of senators?

The 100 US Senate seats are classified into three classes of United States senators, two of which (class 1 and 2) consist of 33 seats and one (class 3) of 34 seats.

When was the last time Massachusetts had a Republican senator?

Scott Brown was the last Republican to represent Massachusetts in the U.S. Senate. First elected in the 2010 special election, Brown lost his bid for a full term in 2012 to Elizabeth Warren who has held the seat since. Edward Brooke was the last Republican to be elected to a full term in Massachusetts.

Who did Markey replace?

Markey was first elected in a 1976 special election to replace the deceased Torbert Macdonald, and was re-elected in every subsequent election. He was also the Democratic candidate, and winner, of the 2013 special election, for the United States Senate.

How many senators USA have?

The Constitution prescribes that the Senate be composed of two senators from each State (therefore, the Senate currently has 100 Members) and that a senator must be at least thirty years of age, have been a citizen of the United States for nine years, and, when elected, be a resident of the State from which he or she

You might be interested:  University of massachusetts--amherst (isenberg)

How many senators are there in California?

Kamala Harris (Democratic Party) Dianne Feinstein (Democratic Party)

How many senators do we have in California?

There is a total of 40 Senators.

How many classes of senators are there?

class – Article I, section 3 of the Constitution requires the Senate to be divided into three classes for purposes of elections. Senators are elected to six-year terms, and every two years the members of one class—approximately one-third of the senators—face election or reelection.

Why do all states have 2 Senators?

According to Article I, Section 3 of the Constitution, “The Senate of the United States shall be composed of two Senators from each state, chosen by the legislature thereof for six Years.” The framers believed that in electing senators, state legislatures would cement their ties with the national government.

What’s the difference between congressman and senators?

House members must be twenty-five years of age and citizens for seven years. Senators are at least thirty years old and citizens for nine years. Another difference is who they represent. Today, Congress consists of 100 senators (two from each state) and 435 voting members of the House of Representatives.

Who did Warren beat in Massachusetts?

In the United States Senate election held in Massachusetts on November 6, 2012, Democrat Elizabeth Warren defeated incumbent Republican Senator Scott Brown.

Who is Boston senator?

Home | U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren of Massachusetts.

Who did Elizabeth Warren replace in the Senate?

Elizabeth Warren
Assumed office January 3, 2013 Serving with Ed Markey
Preceded by Scott Brown
Vice Chair of the Senate Democratic Caucus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *