How much does it cost to register a boat in MA?
MA Vessel Title & Registration Fees Initial/renewal vessel registration (depends on the length of your boat ): Less than 16 ft: $44. 16 ft to less than 26 ft: $66. 26 ft to less than 40 ft: $88.
Is Massachusetts a boat title state?
State law requires any motor-powered boat , or boat operated on a Massachusetts public waterway, to be registered. This includes motorized fishing boats , canoes and sailboats with motors, and jet skis or wet bikes.
How do I get a replacement boat title in MA?
What you need A completed Application for Duplicate Title form. A check or money order (made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts ) or Credit Card / Debit Card. Your current title (if you still have it) should be included in your application.
Do I need a boating license in MA?
Massachusetts law requires all motorboat operators who are 12 through 15 years of age to complete an approved boating course in order to operate a motorboat without adult supervision. Also, all PWC operators who are 16 or 17 years of age or older must complete an approved boating course.
What is required to operate a boat in Massachusetts?
Safety Education Certification Youth who are between 12 and 15 years of age must complete an approved basic boating course in order to operate a motorboat without adult supervision. Personal watercraft users who are 16 or 17 years of age must also complete such a boating course.
Can you drink on a boat in Massachusetts?
Can I drink alcohol on a boat in Massachusetts ? The answer is yes, but only if you are not the operator. Recreational boat operators cannot be boating while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Refusal laws also allow your boat registration to be revoked for a period of 120 days.
What size boat motor can you have without a Licence?
The following vessels must be registered in NSW when used on NSW navigable waters: Power-driven vessels that are powered by an engine with a power rating of 4.0 kilowatts (kW) or more (as a guide, 4.0kW is approximately 5.3 horsepower) Any power-driven or sailing vessel of 5.5 metres or longer.
How do I pay sales tax on a boat in MA?
Pay Sales or Use tax with the Form ST-6 via MassTaxConnect. If not collected by a registered boat , recreational off-highway vehicle or snowmobile dealer , a purchaser must file and pay a Sales or Use tax with Form ST-6: Certificate of Payment of Sales or Use Tax for Boat , Recreation or Snow Vehicle.
What is the fine for an unregistered boat?
|Offence||Penalty notice amount|
|Operate an unregistered vessel||$500|
|Driving a vessel (not PWC)>10 knots unlicensed||$250|
|Driving a PWC unlicensed (1st offence )||$500 + disqualification of any boat licence|
|Drive a PWC unlicensed (2nd or subsequent offence )||$750 + disqualification of any boat licence|
What do I need to register a boat trailer in Massachusetts?
A: In Massachusetts , initial registration and titling is done by filling out the department’s registration application at any of five Registration offices. The boat owner must submit proof of ownership, a bill of sale, proof of payment of Massachusetts sales tax, and the appropriate registration and/or title fees.
Do you need a title to register a trailer in Mass?
To drive in Massachusetts , a vehicle and trailer needs to be properly registered with the RMV, and the vehicle owner must have a legally acquired title . If your vehicle is already registered and titled in Massachusetts , visit the Vehicle Registration and/or Vehicle Certificate of Title pages.
What happens if your boat doesn’t have a hin?
If the HIN is not valid, you may have to contact the US Coast Guard (or Canadian Coast Guard) to get it straightened out and get a valid HIN for the boat . The best thing to do is contact the boating authority in your state, and the US Coast Guard Office of Boating Safety 202- 372-1073.
Is a boating license good in all states?
Yes. All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept the your state’s Boater Education Card. Likewise your state will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements.
Can local police board your boat?
Well the officers, be they the local bay constable, marine patrol, state police or Coast Guard will ask you to heave to. This means: Stop your vessel ! Specifically, they now allow state law enforcement (and those state powers flow down to the local law enforcement officers) to board vessels.
Who needs a boating license in NY?
New York will have a new Boating Safety law coming into effect January 1, 2020. All operators of motorized vessels, regardless of age, will need a boating safety certificate by January 1, 2025. Students must be at least 10 years old to take the New York boating safety course.