When did massachusetts join the union

When was Massachusetts accepted into the Union?

Feb. 6, 1788 1620

When did states join the union?


When did New York join the union?

How did states join the union?

The 11th Article authorized Congress to admit new states to the Union provided nine states consented. Under the Articles, each state cast one vote on each proposed measure in Congress. During this period, the Confederation Congress enacted two ordinances governing the admission of new states into the Union .

What are the 52 states in the US?

States and Territories Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas. California, Colorado, Connecticut. Delaware, District of Columbia. Florida. Georgia, Guam. Hawaii. Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa. Kansas, Kentucky.

What was the 48th state to join the union?


What was the 1st state?


How did the 13 colonies become 50 states?

The United States was formed as a result of the American Revolution when the thirteen American colonies revolted against the rule of Great Britain. These thirteen colonies became the first 13 states as each ratified the Constitution. The first state to ratify the Constitution was Delaware on December 7, 1787.

What were the first states in America?

US States: Order and Dates of Statehood

State Entry Date
1. Delaware December 7, 1787
2. Pennsylvania December 12, 1787
3. New Jersey December 18, 1787
4. Georgia January 2, 1788

Why is Hawaii a US state?

In 1898, a wave of nationalism was caused by the Spanish- American War. Because of these nationalistic views, President William McKinley annexed Hawaii from the United States . It took 60 years from the time Hawaii became a United States territory until it was declared a state on August 21st, 1959.

You might be interested:  Massachusetts car accident report

How many US states in 1919?

Admission of the states — 43. The United States in 1919 — 44.

How many US states in 1914?

Admission of States into the Union: Originally, there were only thirteen U.S. states . However, Congress has the power to grant the admission of new states into the Union.

What were the 13 original states in order?

Just prior to declaring independence, the Thirteen Colonies consisted of New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia.

Why is District of Columbia not a state?

Washington, D.C., formally the District of Columbia and also known as D.C. or Washington, is the capital city of the United States of America. The U.S. Constitution provided for a federal district under the exclusive jurisdiction of the U.S. Congress, and the district is therefore not a part of any U.S. state.

Which state has the highest elderly population?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *