How do I become a Massachusetts State Police officer?
What you need Complete the Civil Service Exam when the Massachusetts State Police announce their participation. Successfully pass the Massachusetts State Police Physical Fitness Assessment. Successfully pass the Medical Assessment. Successfully pass the Psychological Examination. Successfully pass a background investigation.
How much do state troopers make in MA?
Compensation. As of 2017, the Massachusetts State Police average pay for a state trooper was $145,413, with three troopers earning over $300,000, and 245 troopers (12% of the workforce) earning over $200,000.
Does Massachusetts state police polygraph?
Alben, who now runs a security consulting business, said Massachusetts is one of the few states that doesn’t allow law enforcement agencies to require applicants to take polygraph examinations, and that an exemption should be created under the law to allow that.
How long is the MA State Police Academy?
The Massachusetts State Police Academy is located on 780 acres in rural New Braintree. All State Police recruit training is based here. Recruits attend a twenty-five week, modified stress, live-in academy , consisting of over ninety different courses of instruction.
Is 40 too old to become a police officer?
Most police departments do not have a maximum age restriction so yes, it’s possible to become a police officer at 40 . It might be more difficult to pass the physical agility test and stand up to the physical requirements of the job, but if a person has remained fit those challenges can be over come.
What disqualifies you from being a state trooper?
Here is a list of the most common disqualifiers included in the police background check: Felony convictions. Serious misdemeanors. Current drug use or past drug abuse. Dishonorable discharge from military service. Bad credit history. History of domestic violence. Not clean driving license. Unreported past crimes.
Do state troopers make more than cops?
A majority of local police departments employ fewer than 10 officers with most state trooper forces hovering below 2,000 [source: Bureau of Labor Statistics]. That increased horsepower also comes with a higher price tag. The median state trooper salary was $52,540 in 2006, about $5,000 more than local law enforcement.
What state has the highest paid state troopers?
How much does a CT State Trooper make?
For hundreds of Connecticut state police troopers and sergeants, their base salaries of $91,000 and $101,000 are just a launching pad. They also rack up tens of thousands of dollars in overtime payments, resulting in a total of $26.6 million spent in overtime at the department this year.
Can Massachusetts state troopers have tattoos?
Tattoos /Body Art: All candidates for appointment to the position of Massachusetts State Police Trooper and/or Trainee shall have tattoos , body art, brands or scarifications of any type removed prior to appointment to the Massachusetts State Police Training Academy.
Do police academies pay you?
Actually, because attending and graduating from the police academy is required for your new job as a law enforcement officer, not only do you not have to pay to attend, you will receive your full starting salary while you ‘re training at the academy . The average tuition for police academy is $6,700.
Do you sleep at police academy?
Recruits, people in training to become police officers, may live in dormitories for six to eight months, waking up at 5 a.m. and turning the lights out at 10 p.m. sharp. After a day of intense physical training and academic classes, they eat dinner and settle down for a few hours of studying before heading to bed.